City of Sealy, Texas



Resolution in Support of Stephen F. Hustin State Park

RESOLUTION NO. 2016-

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY OF SEALY, TEXAS, IN SUPPORT OF AND ENCOURAGING EFFORTS BY THE STATE OF TEXAS AND THE TEXAS PARKS AND WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT TO REHABILITATE AND ADD FACILITIES TO STEPHEN F. AUSTIN STATE PARK AND EXPEDITE RE-OPENING OF STEPHEN F. AUSTIN STATE PARK AFTER CLOSING AS A RESULT OF RECENT FLOODS.

WHEREAS, the floods during May 2016 significantly damaged 100% of the Stephen F. Austin State Park and resulted in the Park's closure; and

WHEREAS, the Park's closure has resulted in a significant negative impact on outdoor recreational activities for the region; and

WHEREAS, prior to the 2016 closure, average annual visitation for to Stephen F. Austin State Park for the years 2013-2015 averaged nearly 64,000, with approximately two-thirds of those visitors being overnight visitors; and

WHEREAS, during September 2015 – April 2016, visitation reached 48,739 and is indicative that total visitation for the year would have exceeded 73,000; and

WHEREAS, annual expenditures by non-local visitors to Stephen F. Austin State Park exceed three-quarters of a million dollars; and

WHEREAS, the total economic impact of Stephen F. Austin State Park on the Austin County economy exceeds \$2 million; and

WHEREAS, the continued non-reopening of Stephen F. Austin State Park has a significant negative impact on the local economy in the form of business income, jobs, and tax revenue; and

WHEREAS, the Stephen F. Austin State Park has had to turn away school groups and Scout groups due to the lack of resources; and

WHEREAS, the Texas Department of Transportation has begun an expansion project of Interstate Highway 10, which will significantly increase visitation to the local area, to include to Stephen F. Austin State Park; and

WHEREAS, Stephen F. Austin State Park holds a significant place in Texas history, being located in San Felipe, the Colonial Capital of Texas and the central point of the Austin Land Grant and the "Old 300".

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SEALY, TEXAS THAT:

- **Section 1.** That the City of Sealy encourages the State of Texas and the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department to:
 - Obtain FEMA declaration of the Stephen F. Austin State Park as a disaster area; and
 - Convert all 30 amp electrical outlets at campsites to 50 amp so as to accommodate modern recreational vehicles; and
 - Rehabilitate and upgrade the "dining hall" to be a multi-purpose venue to accommodate a wide variety of events, such as the 15-20 weddings per year that use the facility; and
 - Rehabilitate and upgrade the lodge to accommodate overnight visitors using the multi-purpose venue; and
 - Add necessary waste water treatment system upgrades; and
 - Improve all campsites to accept the growing diversity of visitors and equipment;
 and
 - Expand the capabilities and accommodations at the Stephen F. Austin to meet the needs and desires of the rapidly growing population in the region.
- **Section 2.** That a copy of this resolution shall be mailed to all the addresses listed after the signature block.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 26th day of July 2016.

Mayor	
ATTEST:	
City Secretary	

Distribution:

The Honorable Greg Abbott

Governor of Texas P.O. Box 12428 Austin, TX 78711-2428

The Hon. Lois Kolkhurst

Texas Senatorial District 18
P.O. Box 12068
Capital Station
Austin, TX 78711

The Honorable Dan Patrick

Lieutenant Governor of Texas P.O. Box 12058 Austin, TX 78711

The Hon. Leighton Schubert

Texas House District 13 P.O. Box 2910 Austin, TX 78768-2910 The Honorable Joe Strauss

Speaker, Texas House of Representatives P.O. Box 2910 Austin, TX 78768-2910

The Honorable Glenn Hegar

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts P.O. Box 13528 Capital Station Austin, TX 78711-3528

The Hon. Michael McCaul

Texas 10th Congressional District 131 Cannon House Office Bldg Washington, DC 20515

Brent Leisure

Director of State Parks
Texas Parks and Wildlife
Department
4200 Smith School Rd
Austin, TX 78744

Justin Rhodes

Region 4 Director
Texas Parks and Wildlife
Department
14200 Garrett
Houston, TX 77044

Tom Shaughnessy

President, The Friends of Stephen F. Austin State Park P.O. Box 463 San Felipe, TX 77473

Lee Marshall Bass

Chairman Emeritus
Texas Parks and Wildlife
Commission
201 Main Street
Fort Worth, TX 76102

Jeanne W. Latimer

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 7801 Broadway, Suite 100 San Antonio, TX 78209

Dick Scott

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission P.O. Box 2489 Wimberley, TX 78676

Carter Smith

Executive Director, Texas
Parks and Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Rd
Austin, TX 78744

Russell Fishbeck

Deputy Director of State Parks
Texas Parks and Wildlife
Department
4200 Smith School Rd
Austin, TX 78744

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director Texas Historical Commission P.O. Box 12276 Austin, TX 78711

John M. Gosdin

President
Texans for State Parks
5304 Suburban Dr.
Austin, TX 78745

Anna B. Galo

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 1202 E. Del Mar Blvd, Suite 3 Laredo, TX 78041

James H. Lee

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 1330 Post Oak Blvd, Ste 1550 Houston, TX 77056

Kelcy L. Warren

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 8111 Westchester, #700 Dallas, TX 75225

Anne Brown

Executive Director, Texas
Parks and Wildlife Foundation
2914 Swiss Avenue
Dallas, TX 75204

Tim Hogsett

Recreation Grants
Texas Parks and Wildlife
Department
4200 Smith School Rd
Austin, TX 78744

T. Dan Friedkin

Chairman, Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 1375 Enclave Parkway Houston, TX 77077

Ralph H. Duggins

Vice-Chairman, Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 600 W. Sixth, Suite 300 Fort Worth, TX 76102

Bill Jones

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 100 Congress Ave, Ste 2000 Austin, TX 78701

S. Reed Morian

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission 300 Jackson Hill Houston, TX 77007

Copy to:

The Honorable Tim Lapham

Austin County Judge One East Main Street Bellville, TX 77418

The Honorable Joe Ed Lynn

Mayor of Bellville 30. S. Holland Bellville, TX 77418

The Hon. Charles Kalkomey

Mayor of Brazos Country 316 Pecan Grove Rd Sealy, TX 77474

The Hon. Mabel Meyers

Mayor of Industry P.O. Box 190 Industry, TX 78944

The Hon. Carbett "Trey" J. Duhon, III

Waller County Judge 836 Austin St, Suite 203 Hempstead, TX 77445

Martha Garcia

Park Superintendent Stephen F. Austin State Park P.O. Box 125 San Felipe, TX 77473-0125

The Honorable Bobby Byars

Mayor of San Felipe P.O. Box 68 San Felipe, TX 77473

The Honorable Eric Scott

Mayor of Brookshire 4029 Fifth St. Brookshire, TX 77423

The Hon. Clark Main, Jr.

Mayor Pro Tempore of Wallis P.O. Box 190 Wallis, TX 77485

The Hon. Fabol R. Hughes

Mayor of Katy P.O. Box 617 Katy, TX 77493